New can from Silencerco – The .45 Osprey

SIlencerco has a new .45 silencer in the works. The Osprey is rumored to be hearing safe when shot dry. The only others I know of that can claim to be hearing safe dry are the new AAC Ti-Rant .45 and the Knights Armament MK23 “SOCOM” but only when it is on an H&K Mark 23. At some point I hope to get a chance to shoot an Osprey side by side with a Ti-Rant, the hard part is finding either right now. .45 ACP is a very difficult caliber to silence due to the large exit hole and that the .45 is just plain loud. Because of this, most .45 suppressors must be shot “wet” with some sort of ablative medium in them (usually water, oil, or grease) to cool and slow the expanding gases.

Just a note for those who aren’t familiar with the laws. Silencers, machine guns, etc. are legal in all but a handful of states. There is a small amount of paperwork followed by an extensive background check before one can be purchased. People who legally own NFA items are among the most (if not THE most) law-abiding citizens in the country.

One Response

  1. Jon,

    I’m not certain of who you are or your ties to Silencerco, but I’ve had the pleasant opportunity for some one-on-one with Mike (an owner of Silencerco) and his hardware from Silencerco. In short, there is no-overstatement or exaggerating if I were to use the word, “Amazing!” Seriously, incredible!

    I was given the opportunity to spend about an hour and a half with Mike on 25 Mar 2010 at his company building. We went inside and tested several suppressors. I had direct contact with 3 suppressors. I used the .45 ACP Osprey, the 9mm Osprey and a .45 ACP AAC suppressor (can’t recall the model name). Mike went and grabbed a second suppressor from his personal collection in 9mm (may have been an AWC), but he used it later on, not I. So we’ve got 4 suppressors on the table by the time the dust settles and hands down, Silencerco is the king.

    Here’s what happened: I started on a Sig P220 with a .45 ACP made by AAC. I fired about 3 rounds and then I put the Osprey in .45 ACP on the Sig and fired 4 rounds. I then changed the adapter and placed the .45ACP suppressor on a Glock 17 9mm. Yes, I said I put a .45 ACP bore suppressor on a 9mm gun. I fired 6 or 7 rounds of 9mm through that big-bored suppressor this time. Oh boy it was amazing. I then fired the 9mm Osprey on the Glock and compared the noise to the .45 ACP Osprey on the same Glock. Again, amazing! Mike fired a couple of more rounds from another suppressor in 9mm and that was all of the proof that myself or anyone for that matter would need. I brought along my Glock 30 (compact .45 ACP) and a threaded barrel and was given permission to test it on my smaller gun. Again, 15 rounds flawlessly. It even cycled properly with my smaller Glock frame.

    So what did this stuff sound like? As I said, I started on the Sig P220 with the AAC suppressor. There was a noticeable pop with each discharge. It was quiet, but I still would want to use AAC’s suppressor without foam ear plugs for any extended period of time. I removed the suppressor, put on the .45ACP Osprey and commenced to testing. It sounded like a pellet gun with a lot of air pressure. I’m not kidding you. It was so much quieter than the AAC suppressor that my initial profane response, which uncontrollably slipped out of my mouth, made Mike laugh. I fired 4 rounds through this suppressor and cleared the Sig. Now let me point out something really important right here. The AAC suppressor caused the Sig to not fully cycle. In case you are wondering, no, I did not limp-wrist this gun. Not once. In fact, on all three shots the Sig was out of battery and I had to bump the slide into battery. With the Osprey, not one issue. Both suppressors were fairly dirty and if I had to assume which was more heavily used, I would tell you that the Osprey had more usage. You see, the Osprey has the ability to switch adapters for different thread pitches/counts to be used on different barrels. By the build-up I saw across the various adapters I had switched out (and even personally cleaned), I know that Osprey was just as dirty, if not more dirty since the AAC suppressor came out of Mike’s personal collection where as the Osprey was clearly a test suppressor with a serial number below 0020.

    At any rate, I did something I was really wanted to do. I suppressed a 9mm with a .45 ACP bore Osprey. What?!! What about the gap between the bullet and the baffle bore? No, really, it was better than a competitor and almost as good as the pure 9mm Osprey on the Glock 17. I didn’t have a meter so I can’t give you decibel readings, but from right behind the gun were the pop is, it was so quiet that you would not be able to tell it was a bigger bore on a smaller bullet. They really put a lot of thought into designing a better suppressor. The 9mm Osprey on the 9mm Glock was impressive too. It was the quietest of all suppressors, which logically make sense. I had failed to really tighten the suppressor on before I indexed it with the cam lever. I fired twice and I noticed the suppressor had slightly rotated. This was ‘entirely my fault.’ Here’s the really cool thing: the design of the body let me see that it was not tight. This is something that would not have been noticed with a round suppressor until it may have been too late–falling off or worse, baffle strike. I simply grabbed it firmly and tightened it back into place. Never came loose. Again, let me emphasize, this was entirely from my lack of properly tightening the suppressor the first time. The adjustable cam indexing they have is not going to slip. I asked Mike one last question, “can I hear this suppressor wet?” I passed a bottle of water and he smiled. “Okay,” he said. I poured a little water in and set the Glock back up with the 9mm suppressor. Mike fired a couple of shots through the suppressor with some water inside. I think a pellet gun would have been louder. The only noises I heard were the cycling of the slide and the impact of the round. Utterly amazing!

    I wish that I could take my experiences and just transfer them like the Matrix, but it was absolutely amazing. Any marketing material that Silencerco produces on the Osprey is 100% accurate. It is hands down the best suppressor on the market today. I’ve recently constructed a trust to purchase one of these for myself. After hands on experience, competitors are in for a challenge to beat the Osprey!

    I can prove that I was there. I have some photos and video and I would upload it except that it’s not possible on the blog. Email me and I’ll send you a picture of myself in the testing room.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

